10 Metro stations to go cashless from January 1

As many as 10 Delhi Metro stations will go completely cashless, starting January 1. The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) officials said the decision is a part of the Union government’s effort towards a cashless economy.

Sources said the policy might be extended to other stations soon. “That decision will be taken based on the response from these 10 stations. We expect some hassles during the initial days and are prepared to counter them,” said DMRC Chief Mangu Singh.

Officials said the soon-to-be cashless stations are Rohini (E) and (W), M G Road, Mayur Vihar Phase-I, Nirman Vihar, Tilak Nagar, Janakpuri (W), Noida Sector 15, Nehru Place, and Kailash Colony.

“At these stations, cashless transactions for token and smart card purchase or top up can be done through Paytm. The stations have been selected keeping in mind certain factors to ensure that commuters don’t face any issues,” a DMRC official said.

He added that 70 per cent or more of the commuters at these selected stations were smart card users, due to which cash transactions there were already less in number, compared to other stations.

“In order to implement the plan, DMRC’s station staff will be given adequate training and a committee of all departments concerned will be made to monitor the implementation. For exigencies, one counter with the option of cash transactions will also remain available initially. We will also have provisions of refund in place to cater to commuters,” a DMRC official said.

Leave a Reply