Presidential Election 2017: 30 of 32 members of Sikkim Assembly vote in polls

Gangtok: Thirty out of the 32 MLAs of Sikkim cast their votes on Monday at the legislative assembly to elect the next president of the country.

Presiding officer LM Pradhan said that two MLAs could not cast their votes due to unavoidable circumstances.

Voting by the 30 MLAs accounted for 93.75 percent of the votes, chief electoral officer, Tenzing Gelek and joint chief electoral officer Urvashi Poudyal said.

Earlier, the house observed two-minute silence as a mark of respect for the former chief minister Nar Bahadur Bhandari, who died in Delhi on Sunday.

They also offered condolences to the bereaved family.

Published Date: Jul 17, 2017 06:20 pm | Updated Date: Jul 17, 2017 06:38 pm

Leave a Reply