Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Shiv Sena-led MVA and BJP to face-off in polls for six Maharashtra Legislative Council seats day after nowadays to come


Mumbai/Pune/Nagpur: The ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi led by Shiv Sena and the Opposition BJP will square off on Tuesday in polls for six Maharashtra Legislative Council seats comprising three graduates, two lecturers and a native bodies constituency.

Votes will seemingly be counted on Thursday. This could presumably even be a standing pickle for Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, whose government with allies Congress and NCP now now not too lengthy previously done one 365 days amid the coronavirus outbreak, moreover because the BJP, which is contesting the total six seats and whose senior leaders Devendra Fadnavis, Chandrakant Patil and Pravin Darekar maintain left no stone unturned for a purchase.

The Congress is battling three seats, the NCP two and the Sena one.

The Opposition has tried to pin the MVA government on points take care of its response to the coronavirus pandemic, the economic bound attributable to the lockdown, moreover as trim-scale injure among farmers over slash loss attributable to heavy rains.

The seats that rush to polls on Tuesday are the Pune Division Graduates’ constituency, Nagpur Division Graduates’ constituency, Aurangabad Division Graduates’ constituency, Amravati Division Lecturers’ constituency, Pune Division Lecturers’ constituency and Dhule-Nandurbar Local Our bodies’ constituency.

The Dhule-Nadurbar seat is having a bypoll after sitting MLC Ambrish Patel stop the Congress to join the BJP. The other 5 seats are going to the polls as three MLCs from the graduates’ constituencies, particularly Satish Chavan (NCP), Chandrakant Patil (BJP) and Anil Sole (BJP), and two Self reliant MLCs from lecturers’ constituencies, Shrikant Deshpande and Dattratray Sawant, retired on 19 July.

The main contestants for the Dhule-Nandurbar seat are Ambrish Patel and Congress’ Abhijit Patil whereas in the Pune Division Graduates seat, the war is between Sangram Deshmukh (BJP) and Arun Lad (NCP).

In Nagpur Division Graduates’ seat, the war is between Sandeep Joshi (BJP) and Abhijeet Vanjari (Congress), and in Aurangabad Division Graduates’ seat, Shirish Boralkar (BJP and Satish Chavan (NCP) will war it out.

In Amravati Division Lecturers’ constituency, Nitin Dhande (BJP) and Shrikant Deshpande (Shiv Sena) are up against every other, and Pune Division Graduates’ seat, the basic contestants are Jayant Asgaonkar (Congress) and Jitendra Pawar (BJP).

As per poll knowledge, the Nagpur graduates’ constituency, which covers Wardha, Nagpur, Bhandara,Gondia, Chandrapur and Gadchiroli districts, has 2,06,454 voters for whom 322 polling centres were set up.

The Aurangabad graduates’ seat has 813 polling centres for 3,73,479 voters and it covers Nanded, Hingoli, Parbhani, Jalna, Aurangabad, Beed, Latur and Osmanabad districts.

The Pune graduates’ seat, which covers Pune, Solapur, Satara, Kolhapur and Sangli districts, has 4,26,257 voters and 835 polling centres were set up. The Pune lecturers’ seat, on the choice hand, has 72,545 voters and 367 polling cubicles were established.

There are 77 polling cubicles in the Amravati lecturers’ seat which covers Buldhana, Akola, Washim, Amravati and Yavatmal districts.

“Your total preparations were done for Tuesday’s polling. There are 1,202 polling stations in 5 districts of Pune constituency the build balloting will opt build. Our polling parties maintain reached these polling stations,” stated Saurabh Rao, Divisional Commissioner, Pune.

Voting will opt build between 8 am and 5 pm, he stated. More than two lakh graduate voters are eligible to cast votes to elect MLC from the Nagpur division, officials stated.

The Nagpur graduate constituency is believed to be because the stronghold of the BJP, which has been wining since a long time.

Union minister Nitin Gadkari had represented this seat for a few years earlier than changing into MP of Nagpur. For Aurangabad Graduates constituency, a total of 3.73 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise between 8 am and 5 pm in Aurangabad, Nanded, Jalna, Beed, Osmanabad, Latur, Hingoli and Parbhani districts at 813 cubicles, an legit stated.

“Particular preparations are done in witness of the COVID-19 pandemic. 1.52 lakh surgical masks, 8,200 pairs of hand gloves, 9,200 face shields, over 14,000 bottles of sanitisers, 1,300 thermal weapons were distributed among groups to conduct the electoral direction of,” he stated.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Chamoli, Uttarakhand:  As rescue operation is underway at the tunnel where 39 people are trapped, Uttarakhand Director General of Police (DGP) Ashok Kumar on Tuesday said it...


India’s energy demands will increase more than those of any other country over the next two decades, underlining the country’s importance to global efforts...


Leaders from across parties bid an emotional farewell to senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad on his retirement from the Rajya Sabha. Mentioning Pakistan...


Tehran:  A member of the armed forces is suspected of involvement in last November’s assassination near Tehran of Iran’s top nuclear scientist Mohsen Fakhrizadeh,...