Press "Enter" to skip to content

Narendra Modi awarded Legion of Merit: Defense power honour is first US medal to be awarded to voters of different countries

The Legion of Merit, awarded by United States president Donald Trump to Narendra Modi on Monday, is the most contemporary among a ramification of world honours bestowed on the prime minister since 2014.

Taranjit Singh Sandhu, India’s Ambassador to the US, approved the award on behalf of the prime minister from National Security Consultant Robert O’Brien on the White Condo.

The award used to be additionally presented to Japanese prime minister Shinzo Abe and Australian prime minister Scott Morrison

President Trump “awarded the Legion of Merit to Japanese prime minister Shinzo Abe for his management and vision for a free and open Indo-Pacific,” O’Brien said.

Trump awarded the Legion of Merit to Australian prime minister Morrison for his management in addressing world challenges and promoting collective security, O’Brien tweeted.

Together, India, the US, Australia and Japan picture the ‘Quad’ crew of countries, which has been seen as a counter to Chinese language dominance within the Indo-Pacific space.

What’s the Legion of Merit?

The Legion of Merit used to be instituted in 1942 by outmoded US president Franklin D Roosevelt, as illustrious in an article in The Hindu.

The Legion of Merit is the handiest US militia ornament that has definite ranks, and the first US medal to be awarded to voters of different countries, as mentioned in an editorial within the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Regardless that US militia personnel qualify handiest for the lowest unfriendly of legionnaire, any international citizen is eligible for the three bigger ranks of officer, commander, and chief commander. These classifications are on the entire conferred upon international officials of excessive unfriendly or on international militia advisers.

As per a press birth by Ministry of Exterior Affairs: “The Legion of Merit, within the qualified diploma of the Chief Commander, is a prestigious award conferred by the President of the United States, in general upon Heads of Dispute or Heads of Government of different countries.”

“The award is in recognition of the Top Minister’s steadfast management and vision for India’s emergence as a world energy, and exemplary contribution made by him for the advancement of the India-United States strategic partnership and promoting world peace and prosperity,” the MEA extra said.

Outdated recipients

Outdated recipients of the award embody Discipline Marshal KM Cariappa, who got the Legion of Merit (Level: Chief Commander) in 1950.

Trump on 18 September awarded the Legion of Merit, Level Chief Commander, to Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, the Emir of Kuwait.

Ahead of that, the medal used to be last awarded in 1991, in line with Hindustan Instances.

With inputs from PTI

More from NewsMore posts in News »

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *