Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Punjab Municipal Elections: Polls ogle 71.39% voter turnout amid stray incidents of violence, EVM snags


On Sunday, balloting for eight municipal firms, and 109 municipal councils and nagar panchayats in Punjab changed into marred by violence purportedly between the workers of the ruling Congress and Opposition. Meanwhile, over 71.39 percent balloting changed into recorded within the polls.

In keeping with a spokesperson of the Punjab Say Election Commission, the ideal turnout of 82.99 percent changed into recorded in Mansa district while the bottom changed into in SAS Nagar at 60.08 percent.

In keeping with officials, seven folks were injured in Rupnagar after workers of the ruling Congress and the Shiromani Akali Dal clashed following a heated argument in ward foremost within the metropolis.

Skirmishes and scuffles were furthermore reported from Batala, Rajpura, Tarn Taran, Bathinda, Gurdaspur, Samana, Rupnagar, Nabha, Nangal, Mohali and Ferozepur.

In Kapurthala’s Sultanpur Lodhi, an Akali worker changed into injured in a conflict with Congress supporters, PTI reported. The SAD workers reportedly alleged that Congress supporters tried to manipulate the polling gross sales residing and that the birthday celebration’s participants fired within the air.

The incident took residing when the balloting time changed into about to be over. Supporters of each and each parties furthermore pelted stones at every other.

In Batala, a BJP chief sustained injuries on the head after a scuffle with some Congress workers, the PTI file added.

SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal criticised the Congress-led executive for the violence.

Akali chief Daljit Singh Cheema alleged that the Congress “goons” now not only “captured” cubicles but furthermore “attacked” Opposition candidates.

Furthermore, SAD chief Bikram Singh Majithia accused the ruling Congress of misusing the chief equipment to construct up the polls.

Punjab BJP chief Ashwani Sharma even staged a take a seat-in in Pathankot on Sunday evening in converse against the alleged “misuse” of executive equipment. The saffron birthday celebration alleged that their polling agents were “forcibly eradicated” from some polling cubicles.

The Aam Aadmi Birthday party (AAP) too accused the Congress workers of indulging in gross sales residing taking pictures in Samana, Rajpura, Dhuri, Abohar and Bhikhiwind, a price denied by the ruling birthday celebration.

Chief of Opposition within the Punjab Assembly Harpal Singh Cheema claimed that an AAP volunteer changed into allegedly shot at in Patti by some Congress activists. Then but again, police rejected the price.

A Congress candidate furthermore reportedly sustained injuries on Saturday evening.

Candidate Yadwinder Singh Yadu, who changed into contesting a seat within the Muktsar municipal council, changed into injured in a conflict on the outskirts of Muktsar town on Saturday evening, as per News18.

News18 reported that Sudhir Sharma, a supporter of Yadu, changed into furthermore injured within the incident.

Congress chief and ex-Muktsar MLA Karan Kaur Brar blamed participants of the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) for the violence, the file added.

Meanwhile, a traumatic challenge prevailed in Batala after Congress and BJP workers clashed, News18 reported, adding that the challenge changed into brought below abet a watch on by the police. The Tribune reported that tight safety arrangements are in residing.

News18 furthermore reported that SAD candidate Parveen Kumar Pinna, who’s contesting the Moga municipal corporation election, changed into “assaulted by unidentified folks” outdoors the Arya College polling gross sales residing within the residing.

AAP’s Cheema furthermore demanded Chief Minister Amarinder Singh’s resignation over the incidents of violence on Sunday.

Then but again, the Punjab Congress hit wait on on the Opposition parties and mentioned they were making “baseless accusations”.

Punjab Congress chief Sunil Jakhar mentioned, “They (Opposition) get now not own any argument against the Congress Birthday party, which is combating elections purely on the mumble work carried out within the convey.”

While the SAD and the AAP accused the Congress of misusing the chief equipment, the BJP had charged the ruling birthday celebration of “unleashing hooliganism below the guise of the farmers’ converse”.

A whole of 9,222 candidates were within the fray for 2,302 wards of the Abohar, Bathinda Batala, Kapurthala, Mohali, Hoshiarpur, Pathankot and Moga municipal firms, besides to the municipal councils and nagar panchayats

EVM snags were furthermore reported in just a few areas adore Ludhiana and Mohali, experiences mentioned. Around 7,000 EVMs were deployed for balloting, PTI reported.

Prominent amongst of us that solid their votes till midday included Punjab minister Balbir Singh Sidhu, Akali chief Majithia, AAP legislator Aman Arora, and Punjab BJP chief Punjab Ashwani Sharma.

The Say Election Commission (SEC) had plot up 4,102 polling stations. Of these, 1,708 were declared as sensitive and 861 as hyper sensitive.

Out of the whole candidates, 2,832 contested as Independents, 2,037 are of the ruling Congress and 1,569 of the Akali Dal. The assortment of candidates of the Bharatiya Janata Birthday party, the Aam Aadmi Birthday party and the BSP are 1,003, 1,606 and 160 respectively.

Licensed allies, the SAD and the BJP fought the municipals elections individually. The SAD had walked out of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to registers its opposition to the farm regulations final one year.

SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal and other birthday celebration leaders campaigned for his or her birthday celebration candidates.

As many as 19,000 police personnel were deputed to conduct free and supreme elections, the SEC mentioned. Voters, including aged voters, started lining up on the polling cubicles early on Sunday morning.

Voters were furthermore screened thru thermal scanners at polling cubicles within the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

There were 20,49,777 male, 18,65,354 female and 149 transgender voters, totalling 39,15,280 registered voters within the convey for the civic body elections, in line with the SEC data.

The counting of votes will bag residing on 17 February.

With inputs from PTI

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Chamoli, Uttarakhand:  As rescue operation is underway at the tunnel where 39 people are trapped, Uttarakhand Director General of Police (DGP) Ashok Kumar on Tuesday said it...


India’s energy demands will increase more than those of any other country over the next two decades, underlining the country’s importance to global efforts...


Leaders from across parties bid an emotional farewell to senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad on his retirement from the Rajya Sabha. Mentioning Pakistan...


Tehran:  A member of the armed forces is suspected of involvement in last November’s assassination near Tehran of Iran’s top nuclear scientist Mohsen Fakhrizadeh,...