Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Tamil Nadu Assembly election 2021, Tiruvarur profile: Ex-CM M Karunanidhi held seat; DMK won 2019 bypolls


Tiruvarur is an Assembly/Vidhan Sabha constituency in the Tiruvarur district of Tamil Nadu. It falls below the Tiruvarur Lok Sabha constituency.

Within the 2016 Tamil Nadu Assembly election, the Tiruvarur constituency had a total of 2,53,227 registered voters.

Voter turnout in old election

The voter turnout in Nannilam in the old Assembly election changed into as soon as 77.71 p.c.

Previous election results and winners

Within the 2016 Tamil Nadu Assembly election, M Karunanidhi, historical chief minister of  Tamil Nadu and leader of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) had won the Tiruvarur seat. He got 1,21,473 votes, as against 53,107 votes got by his predominant rival Pannerselvam R of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam birthday celebration (AIADMK).

His death on 7 August 2018 necessitated bypolls to the constituency. Within the by-election held in 2019, DMK retained the seat with birthday celebration candidate Kalaivanan Poondi K successful the seat by a margin of over 64,000 votes.

Within the 2011 assembly elections, the DMK got a convincing victory in this constituency. With a successful margin of 50,249 votes, it managed to serve the Thiruvarur seat for the fourth consecutive term. DMK patron M Karunanidhi changed into as soon as the successful candidate bagging 1,09,014 votes. His nearest opponent, Rajendran M of DMK, got 58,765 votes. The voter turnout changed into as soon as an impressive 82.69 p.c.

The Tiruvarur Assembly constituency will traipse to the polls on 6 April as allotment of the Tamil Nadu Assembly election 2021.

The Tamil Nadu Assembly polls will be held to elect a total of 234 People of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Chamoli, Uttarakhand:  As rescue operation is underway at the tunnel where 39 people are trapped, Uttarakhand Director General of Police (DGP) Ashok Kumar on Tuesday said it...


India’s energy demands will increase more than those of any other country over the next two decades, underlining the country’s importance to global efforts...


Leaders from across parties bid an emotional farewell to senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad on his retirement from the Rajya Sabha. Mentioning Pakistan...


Tehran:  A member of the armed forces is suspected of involvement in last November’s assassination near Tehran of Iran’s top nuclear scientist Mohsen Fakhrizadeh,...